cariburbs

4 star rating Unique and trendy choice We stayed here for one night in August. The hotel is trendy, unique and simply fantastic. The hotel had hardwood floors throughout, high ceilings and was very clean. The restaurant is being renovated, so there wasn't dining on site. Walking distance to other eateries. This block the hotel is on is fairly quiet, but walking distance to other neighborhoods. 8/11/2019

AnkurPankur

4 star rating Good hotel This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with a quirky industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. We missed having a bar or restaurant in-house but not too much. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Troy

Very stylish and minimalistic rooms. Comfortable beds with clean rooms. After staying in Manhattan hotels this one is a breath of fresh air.

The price is well worth the room.
6/19/2018

Renée

Beautiful decor, friendly service and very accommodating! I love the little coffee shop In the lobby. It was perfect for grabbing a cup of coffee on the way to find adventure. I You are near several train stops, just a very short walk to any of them. 11/19/2018

Bailey

If anybody is trying to find good deals for hotels visit HotelBuIly. com booked a hotel on there and they had the best rates anywhere!

Cool... I love the industrial but chic retro kind of style. I appreciate the cleanliness and the very low noise ambiance because of its perfect situation in a non hustling bustling neighborhood. Very close to subway station, but currently only local metro that stops by it.
5/28/2019

Limor C.

5 star rating What a gorgeous place, me and my fiancé dined at the Mundo New York, the Restutante down by the lobby. The food is incredible and the atmosphere is elegant. I really enjoyed spending my thank giving day here. Staff is courteous and pleasant

Highly recommend!!
11/24/2016

Joanne K.

4 star rating I'd definitely go back here if i ever needed a room in queens again! The space is so cute. And also everything was clean. Also the brand for shower gel/shampoo/conditioner etc is good too. And i generally don't use the ones the hotels give. My only complaint would be there's no parking, and only one elevator!! 5/28/2017

Puffy459

4 star rating Cool place to stay! I am a Queens resident and had out-of-town guests stay at this hotel, which is close to my home. It's absolutely the coolest joint in Queens. The lobby area, including rooms to play games and socialize, is clean and nicely furnished. There is a great coffee bar in the lobby, and the hotel has a great breakfast.

The rooms are typical NYC (studio-style and minimalist chic). The bed was comfortable and shower was great. We had a nightcap in the hotel bar,and the bartenders were excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel.
1/01/1970

Kyle

Spacious room. Clean. Food is great for complementary. Also bar bites at the in hotel bar were high quality. Staff very accommodating. 5 stars 11/11/2018

beckyalexandered2018

4 star rating Funky and spacious hotel We loved the look of this hotel after reading about it in a UK paper. We arrived late at night and loved the funky lobby - a fun space to arrive in. We were pleased with our standard room which had two doubles in it. We thought the beds very comfy - great mattresses and linen. High ceilings make the room feel spacious - great for new york. We had a basin/toilet room and a shower room - great shower and generous, fluffy towels. We paid extra each day for breakfast - it was very good in a lovely bright room - the woman running it was very pleasant. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at 10 dollars each which we paid for each day for 4 of us - although one receptionist said it should be 15 and was awkward about it - the manager stepped in and all was sorted. This could have been easier and more pleasant- we were paying for a week times 4 so they still had a great deal from us. Room noise - our room was on floor 3 and overlooked a car garage which had two deliveries late at night which were noisy. Other than that I thought it quiet for new york and we heard nothing from other rooms/corridors. The subway is outside which was great - we used it every day except one weekend when it didn't stop there... We loved the look of this hotel after reading about it in a UK paper. We arrived late at night and loved the funky lobby - a fun space to arrive in. We were pleased with our standard room which had two doubles in it. We thought the beds very comfy - great mattresses and linen. High ceilings make the room feel spacious - great for new york. We had a basin/toilet room and a shower room - great shower and generous, fluffy towels. We paid extra each day for breakfast - it was very good in a lovely bright room - the woman running it was very pleasant. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at 10 dollars each which we paid for each day for 4 of us - although one receptionist said it should be 15 and was awkward about it - the manager stepped in and all was sorted. This could have been easier and more pleasant- we were paying for a week times 4 so they still had a great deal from us.

Room noise - our room was on floor 3 and overlooked a car garage which had two deliveries late at night which were noisy. Other than that I thought it quiet for new york and we heard nothing from other rooms/corridors.

The subway is outside which was great - we used it every day except one weekend when it didn't stop there and we had to get a cab back! Check before you board for later nights/weekends.

There was confusion over the summer party - we arrived to be told that there would be their annual party the last night of our stay due to end at 5am. We were worried about this as travelling with children and that is very late to hear party noise. In the end it was postponed due to weather but we really should have been told much earlier - we booked ages ago. The manager was again very nice about this and offered ear plugs but for such a big night I was surprised they even took regular bookings - maybe this needs more thought for the future - discuss with guests on booking that night, not when they check in!

The area is not smart and a bit quiet to walk around if on your own at night but we loved the Momi which is a 7-8 min walk away and tried a few of the local restaurants which were all excellent - the hotel gave us a great map with their locations. We also went to the amazing open air pool in Astoria - best get a cab there - free to go in but you need to take a good lock - check their many rules on line before going!

We would stay here again. More
8/13/2018

Doctor

Very nice hotel in a great location. It’s close enough to Manhattan if you want to go to bars, but centered perfectly to avoid too much traffic. The hotel itself was very clean and housekeeping was on point. The staff was also friendly and helpful. You can even request a mini fridge and microwave free of charge. 11/11/2018

Kim H.

5 star rating This was my second stay at the Paper Factory Hotel, the first time for work and the most recent for mother/daughter weekend in NY. I LOVE the stylish/funky decor both in the lobby and the rooms. The rooms are actually pretty roomy (especially for NYC), with high ceilings and lots of windows. We stayed in the deluxe queen and if was perfect for the 4 of us -  1 queen, 1 king, a fold out couch, desk, refrigerator, and microwave.

The front desk staff and the manager were all great during our entire stay. My daughter had left a stuffed animal in her bed and the cleaning staff accidentally picked it up with the bedding to be laundered (it was white, just like the sheets). When we called the front desk and the manager immediately called the laundry company. They found the stuffed animal, but it had gone through the laundry and wasn't looking too good, so the PFH manager went to a toy store and bought a replacement and had it for my daughter when we got back that night - AMAZING service.

Although the hotel is not within walking distance of much, you can take a 5 min. Uber ride to some of the best Greek food in NY, or jump on the subway (across the street from the hotel front door) and be in Manhattan in 10-15 min.
3/30/2018

Arunia

Great artistic hotel. Nice bar and restaurant. Great for families and young adults. Lots of things to do in a close distance. 11/10/2018

AnaB176

4 star rating Will Be Great Once Renovations Are Complete This hotel had great reviews up until they started renovations. The hotel really does not have a ton to offer in comparison to what is advertised on the website. I feel like once the renovations are complete and the restaurant and bar are back up in running this hotel will have so much more. It was very clean and we loved the updated bathroom with high end fixtures. The room was very small in comparison to what is advertised. The mattress was on a platform that was bigger than it which was strange. The staff were very pleasant and directed us to some restaurants in walking distance. The renovations appeared to include an nice outdoor patio space which will be awesome once complete. Overall the hotel was very basic. Would not go back until the renovations are complete. 7/16/2019

Zoe W.

5 star rating Stayed here over the Christmas weekend. It was my second time staying here, with the first time being two years ago. Like last time, I had a lovely experience. The staff were all very nice, the room was clean and beautifully decorated (the whole hotel is beautifully decorated with an eclectic but warm aesthetic that I love). I also love the location because it's quieter and less busy than you would experience if you stayed in Manhattan, but is still very close to Manhattan. Plus, we found free street parking right next to the hotel immediately upon arrival, which is a huge convenience. I also love the products they use for the shower gel and shampoo/conditioner in the rooms, they smell wonderful.

My ONLY complaint, but it was more my fault, was that the hotel restaurant (which is now called Lily Valley instead of Mundo) is advertised as being open 5-11pm Tuesday through Saturday, but the kitchen closes at 10pm, which seems pretty early to me. We got there expecting to be able to have a late dinner at 10 (which I thought was plenty of time since it closed at 11) and were told, very apologetically, that the kitchen closed at 10. I would love it if they extended their hours or made it more clear that the kitchen closed at 10 on their website, especially since the hotel has no room service. We experienced the same thing in the morning, where we got to the restaurant for breakfast/brunch at 11am and were told they close at 11am. To me that's a little early on a Sunday to close, and again I would love if they extended their hours to close at 12pm. But other than that, it was a great hotel stay, and I look forward to staying there again.
12/30/2017

joyce

Room was large. I noticed in one review it was mentioned room was difficult to. Heat. Actually I didn’t have a problem. Always warm. Loved the large shower. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. 2/16/2019

Matthew R.

4 star rating Mid sized Boutique Hotel at the intersection of Astoria and Long Island City. Booked it through booking.com and got a really good deal for two nights. Rooms were clean and pretty big for a small hotel. Rest of hotel was well organized, Front desk was efficient. They have a nice restaurant in the hotel (separate review), and the downstairs space is often used for large parties.  HVAC system in room kept place comfortable.

One minor quibble is they have to fix the elevator. it has that annoying "hey, I'm not exactly at the floor level, so let me bounce the people in the car a few times to find it" thing going for it.
3/03/2017

J

Wonderfully designed, moderately priced- nearby the 37 street R/M train station. It's close to Kaufman Studios and many restaurants, bars, a movie theater and the Museum of the Moving Image. The hotel was built from an old factory and is just brilliantly designed down to the small details in the rooms. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, game room, fitness center, lounge areas, continental breakfast (for a fee), bottled water and more. Check in is at 3pm. Check out is at 11am. I suggest anyone that's looking for a nice place to stay while in the Queens area- with easy access into Manhattan by train- to stay here. The staff is lovely as well. I would definitely come back. 8/13/2018

randi n.

5 star rating I loved this place! Who knew such sophistication existed in industrial Queens! So nice we extended our stay and Stephanie was so cool and accommodated our needs at the front desk. Natalie was super cool as well! Rooms are unique and clean. Bath products better than most hotels, even though I usually bring my own. I'll be back! 7/03/2018

LB-Dude

5 star rating Best Bet Near LGA / Queens Stayed here when flights were canceled and we’re now scripting reasons to come back. Super-cool property in a great neighborhood with an excellent staff. They pointed us to a great Mexican restaurant down the street near Kaufman Studios (Tacuba Cantina - really good).

Dig the vibe fueled by the unique design, not just the rooms but also the lobby and outdoor patio.
8/22/2019

Lani

The moment we booked our accommodations to the moment we walked into the hotel and during our stay, we enjoyed our experience. The staff are inviting and accommodating. Shout out to Alisha, you were very professional, gracious and I appreciate your effort to go above and beyond. The atmosphere and decor of this hotel was very unique and compelling. The I highly recommend this hotel. 2/24/2019

Nick

Very different from the usual chain experience. Great staff and nice rooms with a fantastic aesthetic all around. Location was perfect for our purposes, being near to several notable venues. All told, a great hotel we will definitely be considering again in the future. 11/11/2018

ross51681

4 star rating Funky hotel, great value My wife and I stayed here for one night New Year’s weekend. We arrived early and to our surprise our room was ready. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We really liked the furnishings in our King room. Very original hotel! It’s also very close to the subway for easy access to Manhattan. 1/14/2019

Shaurica C.

5 star rating Oh, The Paper Factory! What a darling hotel.

Stayed here while in New York on business at the recommendation of a NY resident & native, and was not disappointed! I loved everything about this place!

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating every day of my stay, and even gave me this cute complimentary bathrobe and slipper set! I stayed in one of the lofts, and the view was absolutely amazing. So were the amenities.

There's also a lot to do in the area (although not particularly walking distance), and the hotel staff will be more than happy to point you in the right direction. There are 2 or 3 subway stations in a 5 minute walk or less. You also have to stop by the bar downstairs and chat with the lovely Rachel! She is so extremely fun & pleasant, and I really enjoyed meeting her. If fate were to ever bring me back this way, I would definitely love to stay here again!
3/12/2019

Noelle B.

5 star rating Wonderful hotel! I booked this through HotelTonight for a special occasion and called prior to check-in to request a nice room if possible. Mariana was the one who took my call and she totally came through!! We were set up in a lovely suite and we were even able to check in early. The room was HUGE (NYC studio apt huge) and had a great view so we got to see the sunset over the city. The decor all over the hotel was very interesting and as other people have mentioned, the gym was pretty nice and spacious (compared to other hotel gyms). We unfortunately didn't get to check out the restaurant and bar downstairs but both seemed pretty lively. I had such an amazing time here from beginning to end and I won't hesitate to come back!! They really made my surprise gift that much more special. 6/15/2017

Tash H.

5 star rating Great hotel! It's definitely more spacious than any hotel in Manhattan for this price range. Will return. 9/23/2018

Ultraportdrive

4 star rating Trendy hotel in Queens Stayed a few nights at this fairly new hotel. Nice feature are the high ceilings in the rooms, which give you the impression of space. Actually the rooms are spacious if I compare it with the manhattan hotel we had the second part of the week. Also the neighbor hood was quite at night, for good nights sleep. The shower did not have much water pressure, but was okay.

The lobby and restaurant were being refurbished, but did not matter as we went outside for breakfast and dinner.

Good hotel for visiting NY as the metro almost stops on the doorstep.
8/16/2019

Jim H.

4 star rating Really great atmosphere and decor. The bar has great quality brews and spirits. There's a shuffleboard and ping pong room as well as a nice patio. The rooms are nice, though, the harder bed with softer pillows was a bit uncomfortable. But the bathroom and shower both were very clean.

The location is great, it's right next to the MTA and a quick ride into Manhattan or to LGA.

The only real issue I had was the service at the cafe counter being slow at best and interrupted by a manager more concerned with a rag being in a bucket than the one customer who had already been waiting for a few minutes for a cup of coffee.

Otherwise, this will be my go to for my business travel into NYC for the foreseeable future.
9/27/2018

Yonatan K.

5 star rating Very cool hotel everything here is very rustic I love displace the rooms comfortable and The price is ridiculous very cheap, comfortable to get to the city from here 11/20/2016

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/06/2018

ricardosou

5 star rating Highly recommended Nice, cosy and comfortable option to stay in NY. Just 2 subway stops from Manhattan, very quiet, extremely clean, good bedding and towels. Spacious room with closet, safe, chest of drawers, table, TV with plenty of free on demand chanels and very good internet connection. Coffee machine, free bottle of water. Spacious bathroom with free toiletries. Charming decoration in industrial style, leather sofas, plenty of cool lighting fixtures. Courteous people at front desk. And last, but not least, affordable prices. Highly reccomended. 6/18/2018

Craig M.

5 star rating I hesitate to rate the Paper Factory because I would like to keep it for myself.  Lobby and the rest of the main floor is modern, cool, unique and very welcoming. The vibe was very relaxed but the staff including Arturo, Daniella, and Theo in the bar were very friendly, helpful, and genuine.  My room was spacious, clean, and light filled and the bed was comfortable. Blackout shades provided perfect sleep environment.  Bar was well designed and offered a relaxed atmosphere.  I stayed in Queens but Manhattan is very close either by car or subway.  This place is a true gem and a nice change from the boring, generic hotel experience.  My only caveat is that like most of New York parking can be a challenge if you happen to have a car during your stay.  Other than that I look forward to staying at the Factory when I'm in town again. 10/14/2018

Faye M.

4 star rating The hotel is beautiful and has lots of charm and would stay again if I came back to New York the breakfast is great and great price and the area is so so but overall I liked it 9/02/2018

VovaNLondon

4 star rating Great hotel May be surrounding area is not best, but location is definitely perfect - only three stops from 5th avenue. The hotel itself is very clean, breakfast is good. Rooms are a bit small but it was ok for us. 6/19/2018

B_Mike_Shaw

4 star rating Simple but Functional The hotel is quaint and reasonably priced. The room that I was in was not large, but functional. It is also quite convenient - despite being located outside of Manhattan, it is located close to a subway station and it takes about 15-20 minutes to get to downtown Manhattan. 9/01/2018

Near M.

4 star rating You may be wondering why a native, born and bred New Yorker is doing a review of a hotel in NYC but I'll explain. A friend of mine booked this hotel a few days ago and another friend of mine used to work here, so its given me the opportunity to get to check out the hotel, see the rooms and amenities it offers. I wanted to give this place a 5 out of 5 stars but there's a few key issues with this place that has made me give it a big time 4 out of 5 stars. And in some ways I feel generous giving it a 4. Either way, read on!

Location: Some may find the location inconvenient, weird, shady, "out of the way" but if you ask me, the location is perfect. Now I understand it's not right smack dab in the middle of Manhattan, in the tourist, Disineyfied trappings of Times Square or across the street from Central Park on the west or east wing of 59th but that's totally okay. This location is more of a piece of "real New York City" and you're not far away at all from Manhattan or north Brooklyn, around quite a few attractions and there's no shortage of eats in the area.

You'll be in the L.I.C/Astoria section of Queens. Up the Block from the hotel is the Museum of Moving Images which is a wonderful museum and you'll be next to Steinway street which is flooded with plenty of restaurants. To the west of Astoria and on Broadway you got even more options. Italian, Brazilian/Latin, Middle Eastern,Mediterranean, Asian the list doesn't end. And of course you have your chain restaurants if desire familiarity. If you find yourself on Jackson Ave or Vernon BLVD, then there's even more to desire.

You'll be next to Astoria Park and Gantry State Park which are both wonderful parks. And you're next to a plethora of trains to get you right into Manhattan. The R,M leaves you right in front of the hotel but the 7,E, N, W are a few minutes walks away.

You'll be in an industrial/residential area but there's not much too worry about really. Lots of construction going on with new sky rises being built.

Decor/Style: This is probably the biggest draw of the hotel. This hotel is truly groovy and has a completely distinct feel from many other hotels you'll go to anywhere. It's cozy, loungey, artsy and a lot of thought went into how the hotel was created. As I was lucky enough to see a few of the rooms through my connection, I can say that no room is the same and every room has its own unique touch and feel. Everywhere you look in the hotel there's art and every floor has a neat little lounge spot with comfy sofas. It's a mixture of the rustic past of the place meeting modern art.

There's also a nice little cafe on the main floor which is fairly priced.

And I will have to say this hotel has the best hotel-gym I've EVER been too. I've been to a good number of hotels and I am sure there's a hotel out there that blows this gym's hotel out the water BUT I still feel this hotel-gym very good. There's more then the bare bones minimum. There's a very durable kick boxing bag, good tread mills, good number of weights, resistance bands, yoga mats and a nice boom box. If you're a fitness buff and want a nice workout before you hit the streets, this can do you pretty well.

There's also a very big lounge area on the main floor and a really nice lounge rooftop area on the top floor. Which I believe can be used unless its reserved. There's also some shows that happen here which I think is on the basement area or something. I don't know but the staff can inform you I am sure.

The ugly and bad: So, with all the praise I've been giving it, I have to get down to some points that totally suck dirty booty. One of the things that pissed me off greatly about this place is the elevators. TERRIBLE. This place is only 5 floors so thankfully you have the option of going up the stairs without having to catch an asthma attack but there's no excuse for the elevators to be as slow as they are. Maybe its because its old but I don't give a damn. On the bright side, the stair cases are really neat to take a trip on so I suppose its not that bad. Still, its TOO slow for an elevator that has to go 5 floors.

Secondly, the place is still having a lot of work being done on it. I guess that's not totally a bad thing but its quite cheesy to see construction and renovation going on in the hotel when you're staying there. Once things are finalized, I can give this place a big time 4 or perfect 5.

Either way, I still highly recommend this place and don't let my negatives of the place deter you. If you can afford it, definitely book it and make sure you have time to not only explore NYC but spend time in the hotel. It's definitely a hotel I feel you would want to spend time in and not only have as a sleeping hub. It's so groovy, comfy and cozy that I would definitely want to make the best out of shelling out some cash to actually hang out here. BOOK IT.
3/08/2017

Puffy459

4 star rating Cool place to stay! I am a Queens resident and had out-of-town guests stay at this hotel, which is close to my home. It's absolutely the coolest joint in Queens. The lobby area, including rooms to play games and socialize, is clean and nicely furnished. There is a great coffee bar in the lobby, and the hotel has a great breakfast.

The rooms are typical NYC (studio-style and minimalist chic). The bed was comfortable and shower was great. We had a nightcap in the hotel bar,and the bartenders were excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel.
2/12/2019

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 1/01/1970

A TripAdvisor Member

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

Katherine S

5 star rating Kendra at the front desk is amazing We stayed a 4 day weekend with multiple guests and Kendra really went above and beyond to provide excellent service. She helped us with several questions throughout the night! She went above and beyond. 3/22/2019

Jeff

Surprisingly nice place. Room was well laid out and the hotel has great decor. Front desk was helpful and the price was good value. There was a small problem with the room and the front desk and facilities fixed erverything quickly. Great experience overall 12/01/2018

Jonathan

Hip and trendy! Super rad place and not too pricey either! Needed a place to crash since my flight got delayed and I saw Paper Factory Hotel was running a deal so I gave it a shot and I’m so glad I did! Love this place, highly recommend! 7/22/2019

Toya

Beautiful hotel with great, friendly staff. Loved the outdoor bar area and food truck. Very eclectic decor...just my style. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will DEFINITELY be going back!!! Great for a getaway with a loved one or alone!!! Can't say enough good things about this place👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 8/07/2019

Zachary M

5 star rating Visited during Graduation There were 5 of us at the hotel. We stayed on recommendations from family. The hotel was under construction when we were there, however we weren’t there for the hotel restaurant. The rooms were more than enough space, very clean and well maintained. The hotel has a great feel and you feel very safe in the area! There are 2 subways stations very close that zip right into the action! The staff was attentive, very pleasant and knowledgeable! Even tho the restaurant was closed the breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day! When visiting New York again we would absolutely chose the Paper Factory! 7/16/2019

honest reviewer

5 star rating Compassionate stay... We were here for a funeral, so while most of our time here was a blur, we would like to comment on the constant kindness that was so graciously displayed toward us on every level. As we strolled in day after day, in black, rolling in extra bags, and forlorn faces, the staff here stuck with us, and afforded us human kindness above and beyond. This hotel is hipster cool, funky, clean, convenient, serves excellent food, and has the best staff ever. In memory of our beloved niece, we cannot thank you enough.. 7/27/2018

wanderlustMBA

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

Chad

Generally great experience at the paper factory. The room was great. Breakfast was good. The subway station is right out front, and the city is only a stop or two away. 3/23/2019

Ankur

This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with an industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Julia

Such a cool hotel. Very modern industrial in style and design. Clean rooms, good coffee,nice amenities all around. Would recommend to my extremely picky grandmother which is saying A LOT. 8/27/2018

RaymondS1241

4 star rating Great hotel, staff friendly, great location, No refrigerator in the room. This hotel is close to the subway of 36 street, easy to navigate. There are some great restaurant near by. The area felts safe. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable, We used the breakfast room on our stay and found it sufficed for one off use, however a broader selection of juices and freshly made OJ would be an improvement, the milks need to labeled, and maybe eggs to order would be a good practice. Dry cleaning service was used and this was done well, however we did need to see the front desk to retrieve the dry cleaning. The gymnasium was equipped for a reasonable workout, but if if you need a more solid training session there is a gym 10 min walk away for the cost of 20USD. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly, the first room we went to was not sufficient for my companions size to fit in the bed, so we asked for a room with a bigger bed. The staff could not do anything more to support us and provided a complimentary upgrade (thank you) it made sleeping much easier for my companion. The shower facility in the room was designed for tall people and the water pressure was great, the ROAM products a nice touch. What was lacking in the each of the rooms we were in, was a bar or mini fridge, not sure of the reasoning for... This hotel is close to the subway of 36 street, easy to navigate. There are some great restaurant near by. The area felts safe. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable, We used the breakfast room on our stay and found it sufficed for one off use, however a broader selection of juices and freshly made OJ would be an improvement, the milks need to labeled, and maybe eggs to order would be a good practice. Dry cleaning service was used and this was done well, however we did need to see the front desk to retrieve the dry cleaning. The gymnasium was equipped for a reasonable workout, but if if you need a more solid training session there is a gym 10 min walk away for the cost of 20USD. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly, the first room we went to was not sufficient for my companions size to fit in the bed, so we asked for a room with a bigger bed. The staff could not do anything more to support us and provided a complimentary upgrade (thank you) it made sleeping much easier for my companion. The shower facility in the room was designed for tall people and the water pressure was great, the ROAM products a nice touch. What was lacking in the each of the rooms we were in, was a bar or mini fridge, not sure of the reasoning for this, but every hotel i have ever stayed at around the world has provided this Missed item within the room of the paper factory hotel. This is a nice hotel facility, staff great, and it would be a positive added service with a porter/concierge service for taking bags and guests to rooms and explaining the facilities of the hotel and in the rooms. More 8/27/2018

barnone80

4 star rating Stylish and Comfortable This hotel was a pleasant surprise! The decor is urban chic with a lot of interesting mid-Century artifacts all around the hotel. The rooms are spacious for NYC and very comfortable. The rooms and common areas are nice and clean. The front desk staff is very nice. There is a coffee bar in the lobby and a we enjoyed the breakfast in the dining room. The neighborhood is quiet at night.

The subway station is close by, but my one criticism is that it can be hard to find parking if you have a car. There is a coffee house across the street, but most restaurants are several blocks away.
10/18/2018

Holls D.

4 star rating The staff was super friendly and helpful.  The room was clean and spacious.  Would definitely recommend this hotel. 8/06/2017

Alicia D

4 star rating Easy access to Manhattan I was a first time visitor to NYC with my two teenage daughters. We live in rural NC so we aren't used to city life and were a little nervous about making sure we stayed in a safe area and were able to navigate the city easily while saving money compared to Manhattan prices. This hotel checked those boxes. There were other families staying there and the desk clerks were very helpful. We had no trouble using the subway. One station was right across the street from the hotel, and we traveled all over Manhattan and even ventured into NJ and Queens with no issues. The street the hotel is on looks kind of run down and deserted, very few pedestrians about, with a Mercedes dealership and garage next door but a couple of streets over are several restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating and several people out and about. We didn't feel unsafe but also did not walk the streets after dark. I might not have felt safe then just because there were so few people out. The one night we came back to the hotel after dark we took a Lyft so that we could be dropped off at the door. About the hotel itself...I was disappointed that the lobby and several of the really cool areas (the book staircase, for example) that are prominently featured on the website were being remodeled and/or under construction. The website information... I was a first time visitor to NYC with my two teenage daughters. We live in rural NC so we aren't used to city life and were a little nervous about making sure we stayed in a safe area and were able to navigate the city easily while saving money compared to Manhattan prices. This hotel checked those boxes. There were other families staying there and the desk clerks were very helpful. We had no trouble using the subway. One station was right across the street from the hotel, and we traveled all over Manhattan and even ventured into NJ and Queens with no issues. The street the hotel is on looks kind of run down and deserted, very few pedestrians about, with a Mercedes dealership and garage next door but a couple of streets over are several restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating and several people out and about. We didn't feel unsafe but also did not walk the streets after dark. I might not have felt safe then just because there were so few people out. The one night we came back to the hotel after dark we took a Lyft so that we could be dropped off at the door.

About the hotel itself...I was disappointed that the lobby and several of the really cool areas (the book staircase, for example) that are prominently featured on the website were being remodeled and/or under construction. The website information and pictures do not reflect the current state of affairs. First impression upon walking into the lobby was not good because of that. When we went to check in there was an error with our reservation and they didn't have a double room available so they placed us in a king room with a roll-away bed for the first night. The next day they switched us to a double room. So it was a little aggravating to have to pack up and switch rooms but not a huge deal. After staying in the second room for one night we realized the air conditioner wasn't working so they switched us to a third room the next day which meant packing up again. That room was fine until we were getting ready to leave for the evening and realized the in room hair dryer didn't work. We realized this as we were all three getting ready to go to a Broadway show and had to be there at a certain time. I went down to the front desk with wet hair and requested a new hair dryer which took about 15-20 minutes to have it brought to the room. It was a brand new one still in the box so they maybe had to go out and buy it...not sure. Also, we had a room that was meant for four people, with three people staying in it. Housekeeping repeatedly left us 4 bath towels, 4 hand towels, and 2 washcloths. I had to keep requesting more washcloths and sometimes never received them. I resorted to stealing them off the housekeeping cart when I saw it in the hallway because we never had enough when it came time to shower.

All that to say, the hotel had some issues, but nothing absolutely horrible...just annoying. That's all the bad stuff, but there was plenty of good stuff. I liked the breakfast. Coffee and tea were free, and bagels, yogurt, danishes, etc were reasonably priced for NYC...$3-$4 each. As I mentioned before, the desk staff was very friendly and helpful when we had questions. The breakfast area was very pretty and relaxing. They have a gym that I used to do yoga in a couple of times while there. Kind of old school but really cool. The one common area that wasn't being remodeled was very pretty and great for taking pictures in before heading out. The size of the rooms (we experienced three of them) was nice. I've heard NY hotel rooms are tiny but these felt comparable to others we've stayed in in other places. They were very clean. The bathrooms were nice. The curtains and blinds covered the windows well if you wanted to sleep in. I loved all the old structural details that give the space character and the quirky decor that was sometimes in unexpected places. That was one of the reasons I chose this hotel. We didn't want just a bland, chain hotel.

All in all we had a good stay at The Paper Factory but I can't give them five stars because of the discrepancy between the website and reality. They did mention construction on the website when I made the reservations but it said it was scheduled to be finished by the end of May. Our stay was July 13-20, well past the expected finish date. They need to update their website with accurate information. More
7/21/2019

Kitty2222

5 star rating Needed to be close to the city, comfortable at a reasonable price. Close to Manhattan, subway right outside the building. Clean, large, hip & comfortable. Interesting decor. Not boring. Our morning coffee and croissant were included. We were not looking for an interesting neighborhood or restaurants. We just needed affordability and comfort. This was perfect. 5/28/2018

Matars_Z

4 star rating Fair choice with great staff and significant noise problems. The hotel has a modern industrial decor that is fun except for the cold cement floors in the rooms which don't make for a 'warm' feel. Alot of gimmicky 'new' elements. It also has a super friendly staff that welcome you and make for a nice stay- nothing like 90% of NYC properties where you might as well be an unwelcome fly. There is convenient access to the subway, but an Uber can also get you to the city pretty fast and at low cost.

The major issue with this hotel is the crazy amount of noise generated all hours of day and certainly at 1 am, 2 am, 3 am (despite a rule that they should not be operating at that time) at the car dealership and repair place next door. Essentially they have car deliveries that arrive at odd hours, with the hotel having zero control in stopping them - and they make so much noise unloading them, its impossible to sleep through it. They start early with repairs and end late. This is a huge flaw if you face that side. Thus, I would not stay here again unless I didn't have a better choice, or I would make sure not to stay on the side facing the car dealership. Good value, however, if you cannot afford the Manhattan prices on popular holidays.
1/13/2019

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/11/2018

Nadia

I've stayed here twice - it's such a great hotel, especially when competing with the matchbox-size hotel rooms in Manhattan. I was hesitant to stay in Queens but it was the BEST decision.

The rooms are a decent size with great decor, the wifi works, they have reasonable prices for New York, the service is reliable and friendly and the subway really is outside the hotel. The distance to NYC is not a consideration, since it's a short subway ride away.

There's only a grab-and-go breakfast counter which isn't ideal but can be worked around. The cleanliness of the room wasn't up to standard on my second stay (which was only for one night, I would have asked to move if I was staying for longer).

Don't think twice, book your stay here.
7/03/2018

Marga V

5 star rating Modern hotel with eye for detail, saving you money, close to Manhattan We spend 4 nights at The Paper Factory in Long Island City. No regrets about choosing to stay at the Paper Factory, as the location is conveniently located next to metrostation 36th street which is very close to Manhattan (2 stops). We walked around in the neighborhoods and never ever felt uncomfortable or unsafe at all.

Friendly welcome at reception. Hotel has been decorated with eye for detail and modern design. Rooms are nice with comfortable beds which gave a good sleep. We didn't use the optional breakfast but it is available at 15$ pp. Clean towels provided every day and new bedsheets upon request. Free complimentary coffee and tea in the room. The receptionists can inform you about restaurants in the neighbourhood (try 'Dutch Kills Centraal' or the lively mexican cantina 'Tacuba'), using the metro and they have leaflets for most of New York's attractions available.

On the day we left we were able to leave our luggage for some more hours to pick up later. More
6/20/2018

Larry

Staying at the Paper Factory Hotel was a fabulous experience. It was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful, when we got stranded and had to book an additional night because of a snowstorm! Loved our stay and we would highly recommend this place. We would love to visit again! Thank you for making our stay so pleasant and memorable. 1/22/2019

Mishka

The Paper Factory Hotel is a very nice place to stay. The decor was beautiful and unique and the staff was very pleasant. Although we were only there for a night, we will definitely be staying here again in the future. 7/29/2018

Darya

The most amazing place I've ever stayed in.

It's brilliantly decorated in different styles - vintage, modern, loft and, all in all - it's absolutely beautiful combination, a sort of fusion of a perfect kind.

It's just 3 stops away on subway from the centre of Manhattan.

I highly recommend it to everyone because of the friendly costs and comfortable staying.
2/15/2019

Tiya B.

4 star rating Great customer service. Our room was upgraded upon arrival. The decor and ambiance is a photographer's dream. I called to have a note in the room and my husband was surprised with a nice hand written birthday card and a box of chocolates. The negatives are the room had a funny smell almost mildewy and there is construction next door( which was beyond their control) by 7am it was very noisy. I will stay here again after the construction is completed. 8/26/2016

Jeff

Surprisingly nice place. Room was well laid out and the hotel has great decor. Front desk was helpful and the price was good value. There was a small problem with the room and the front desk and facilities fixed everything quickly. Great experience overall. 12/05/2018

FlyBoy32725

5 star rating What a great hotel! This was the perfect girl’s trip getaway! The hotel is acroos the street from a subway station with easy access to Manhattan. The decor is very unique and fun to explore! Very friendly staff. Highly recommend! 9/05/2018

Andrea

Fantastic find, just outside of Manhattan. Easily get into the city with a subway stop on the corner. Friendly hotel staff and well designed room interior. I was shocked at the difference in price compared to the city. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone visiting NYC. 5/26/2018

Lisa N.

5 star rating I have just arrived home from our daughter's college graduation party and there is not enough I can say about Daniella and her staff.  The night surpassed our expectations.  

The food. The atmosphere. The service.    All excellent.  

Thank you for making our night so special.  After Daniella who was there every step of the way. And there when we left. I have to give a shout out to Scott. Our bartender.   Thank you for all the excellent attention.   You made our night great

Thank you. Thank you and thank you again .
6/10/2017

AliJelly

5 star rating Beautiful quirky hotel in NYC The hotel is set in an an old factory, rooms are grand and have every comfort. Our bed was just perfect. It’s very conveniently located to visit NYC, without having to be in Manhattan. They have a restaurant on-site were we had breakfast once. The pancakes were just delicious! We also had a coffe everyday from their bar, it was the best coffe I had in NYC. I was pregnant at the time so I could only drink decaf, nevertheless it was delicious! 10/02/2018

Jon

Not a great location but easy access to subway. Well decorated and comfortable rooms. Very cool common areas when you enter and nice, helpful staff 9/04/2018

sandie1947

4 star rating Super hotel, interesting decor. 4 of us stayed at The Paper Factory Hotel. A short walk from the subway (which we navigated from Manhattan ).

Great staff that was very accommodating with the delivery of extra pillows, towels and water.

One drawback is that the hotel is not near anything. It was a former paper factory and there is a collection of interesting items in the lobby and comfortable sitting room.

We did figure out the subway system, after a few heading-the-wrong-way incidents and took in the site of the 1964 World's Fair.
7/26/2018

Laura R.

4 star rating The hotel was quite clean and had a very unique design. I loved the look-many of the original paper factory hardware was visible- and the attention to detail. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Close to the subway and a 7-11, and the courtyard bar is super cute. As of the writing of this review, the hotel is under construction: so there is a little noise and aesthetic disruption during you stay. It didn't really affect my experience, however. I'll probably stay there again next time I'm in NYC; the location was close to Manhattan but far enough to enjoy a little quiet. 8/21/2019

Kat Y.

4 star rating Well appointed room, we really liked room 327. The room was clean and had everything we needed. I absolutely loved the bed, I emailed after our stay to ask who made it, but no one responded back. The front desk staff were not friendly, but I guess that's NYC for you. The breakfast that was included was yogurt and muffins. It was the only let down. We would stay again, book directly with them for the lowest rate. 10/20/2019

Kim C

5 star rating Fabulous Hospitality This is belated review of a September stay. I ended up at the PFH very late one night after being locked out of the condo where I was to stay. Arturo was so kind to help me out of a stressful bind with a gorgeous suite for an incredible price. As (bad) luck would have it, I spent the next day in the ER and I missed the last flight out. Not only did Arturo accommodate my need for a room for a second night, he and his Brazilian background music helped me throughout a sleepless night as I researched my potentially frightening diagnosis. I'm happy to say that, months later, the diagnosis has been ruled out. And, I'm more than happy to share my very positive experience with travelers who appreciate service that goes above and beyond. More 11/09/2018

Sevann H.

4 star rating We ended up booking a night at the Paper Factory Hotel after some last minute changes to our flights out of LGA. It certainly is an odd location but conveniently located close to the airport with a few great restaurants nearby. If you're looking to step out of the hotel and do a lot of sightseeing then you will most definitely be disappointed, it's what I would refer to as a utilitarian neighborhood.

The hotel itself is decorated it what I would call hipster Millennial meets Restoration Hardware. It's quite beautiful inside and the rooms certainly look unique compared to what you would traditionally find.

The ceilings in the rooms are quite tall, and between that and the concrete floors I though for sure it would be loud at night but the concrete must be several meters thick because we never heard another soul all night long. The bathroom was clean, the room spacious, and well priced. Overall a winner for what it was. If you're ever pressed to stay by LGA, definitely consider this place.
2/25/2017

KJ K.

4 star rating Been here twice. Willing to return because of few reasons: I love how they're so close to the metro station, their interiors, and friendly staffs.

First time the staff had upgraded our room to a Manhattan loft. It was during winter time, and the room would never get warmer... but I still enjoyed the experience because the staffs tried their best to accommodate our needs.

Second time we stayed at the first floor standard kitchenette room, thinking that first floor would not be an issue. Well, we didn't have much problems, but the bathroom smelled....like a sewer.... not to an extreme like 'oh my can't stay here' but every time I stepped into the bathroom I realized I did not want to breathe as much as I could. And the bed would make squeaky noise every time I moved.

But despite of all of these, I am willing to come back, try them at least one more time. Love how it's a little distant from Manhattan but still close to the metro station, and it was easier to find a cheaper parking lot near LIC.
7/14/2017

ChefGeorge561

5 star rating Great place near LGA First time here Very helpful staff ! Called them from out of state and they helped us pull off sons birthday suprise. Room was as advertised online and was ready when we arrived. We will revisit for sure. 8/30/2019

zefer7

4 star rating Art and Hospitality My daughter has been staying in The Paper Factory Hotel, once a year at Christmas-New Year time. This is her 3rd or 4th time visiting with her two babies. She is very happy with the room and restaurants nearby. She gets take-out food and eats in the Hotel. The rooms are artful and some have a view of Manhattan. Great place for short weekender, couples or families. I highly recommend The Paper Factory! Good prices, too. Also, good subway connections. 1/06/2019

Nathan S.

5 star rating Stayed here for a wedding. The staff is fantastic, incredibly accommodating and friendly. The subway was 1 block away, and the neighborhood is quiet (by NYC standards) I would stay here again next time i come to NY 8/07/2017

Tyler_M10

5 star rating Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in This was by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. Worth the stay for the decor alone. The hotel is fairly newly renovated and sits in an old paper factory. We were given a fifth floor room, we were upgraded to a corner suite and it was amazing. Hard wood floors on the fifth floor. The room was spacious, had a sweet Marshall amp mini fridge, great views, cathedral ceilings, desk, furniture, and a king size bed. The toilet and sink was separate from the shower which was super convenient.

The front desk workers were SO extremely helpful and accommodating. I had called multiple times with multiple questions for a Christmas present and a visit for Christmas Eve weekend. They took the time to answer all my questions and gave me more.

We were able to park for free on the side street and could see our car from our window. The subway station going into Manhattan was attached to the building and was a 10 minute train ride to the heart of NYC.

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star. It was an amazing experience for a trip into the city.
1/01/1970

dream

Cool... I love the industrial but chic retro kind of style. I appreciate the cleanliness and the very low noise ambiance because of its perfect situation in a non hustling bustling neighborhood. Very close to subway station, but currently only local metro that stops by it. 3/31/2019

chides2017

5 star rating Industrial modern hotel with touches of eclectic flair Dear Chides2017,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent stay. We are truly grateful for your kind review and your amazing rate. It is priceless to hear and read that our guest enjoyed both common areas design but rooms and accommodation as well.

We very much appreciate your comments, as they help us to improve our services. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team.

Warm regards

PF team
7/24/2018