ChefGeorge561

5 star rating Great place near LGA First time here Very helpful staff ! Called them from out of state and they helped us pull off sons birthday suprise. Room was as advertised online and was ready when we arrived. We will revisit for sure. 8/30/2019

Rohan M

5 star rating A whole new world at the Paper Factory Hotel! Some friends and I finally took a trip to New York City and decided the Paper Factory Hotel would be our home base for the week. After a pleasantly short drive from Laguardia airport, we checked in and figured we would get a lay of the land before embarking on our escapades. With a great mix of urban and retro styles throughout the building, there was always something inventively unique looking back at you. We found ourselves meeting in the lobby most days to plan out our days while the staff gave us some advise on how to best navigate the city and make the absolute most of every day. Between the quick trip to Manhattan and genuine vibes all around, The Paper Factory made our trip to New York more than memorable! More 5/31/2018

AnkurPankur

4 star rating Good hotel This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with a quirky industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. We missed having a bar or restaurant in-house but not too much. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Toya

Beautiful hotel with great, friendly staff. Loved the outdoor bar area and food truck. Very eclectic decor...just my style. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will DEFINITELY be going back!!! Great for a getaway with a loved one or alone!!! Can't say enough good things about this place👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 8/07/2019

Larry

Staying at the Paper Factory Hotel was a fabulous experience. It was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful, when we got stranded and had to book an additional night because of a snowstorm! Loved our stay and we would highly recommend this place. We would love to visit again! Thank you for making our stay so pleasant and memorable. 1/22/2019

Troy

Very stylish and minimalistic rooms. Comfortable beds with clean rooms. After staying in Manhattan hotels this one is a breath of fresh air.

The price is well worth the room.
6/19/2018

A TripAdvisor Member

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

Brucr B.

5 star rating Hotel is in an industrial area so parking is difficult. But once that problem is solved, the hotel is well worth it. Very interesting decor. Rooms a bit tight but very clean. Staff was all very accommodating and professional. Did not partake of the breakfast in the hotel. Went across the street to a corner luncheonette and had a great breakfast sandwich.  Back to the hotel:

We were on 5th floor but not much to see out of the windows unless you like to see factory roofs.  Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only complaint was that the area starts working (hence a bit noisy) in the morning. If you are a late sleeper might be a problem. Otherwise this hotel is a great and interesting choice.
10/08/2016

Joannah Y.

5 star rating Too bad we only had time to sleep in the hotel as a lot of non-New Yonkers do but would have loved to spend time in the hotel itself.  The design was warm and  "feel at home" like and the rooms were very clean. I don't know what those other reviewers were smoking at that time.  I expected and dreaded those supposed paper thin walls' noses to kick in and there wasn't a peep and we were there when the place was fully booked. My only complaint is their 1 Ply tissue paper in the toilet.  Hate those.

Housekeeping took awhile, most likely from being fully booked.  Our room was done at around 3 o'clock. The 24 hour gym was clean and empty as heck all the time we were there.  Overall, loved the experience and wouldn't hesitate to go back again!
11/30/2016

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 1/01/1970

Nathan S.

5 star rating Stayed here for a wedding. The staff is fantastic, incredibly accommodating and friendly. The subway was 1 block away, and the neighborhood is quiet (by NYC standards) I would stay here again next time i come to NY 8/07/2017

Eric H.

5 star rating The first time I visited Paper Factory was for a wedding before Mundo had reopened. It was a great time. I remember thinking to myself as I left - I really hope to come back for more memorable nights. Luckily, JunXion NYC has since teamed up with the hotel to host some truly incredible evenings. Halloween and NYE were nights I'll remember for a long time to come. From the eclectic music, to the unique performances and incredible decor - Paper Factory Hotel and JunXion are a dream team. As an Astoria resident, it's wonderful to have such an awesome place in our neighborhood. 1/02/2017

ross51681

4 star rating Funky hotel, great value My wife and I stayed here for one night New Year’s weekend. We arrived early and to our surprise our room was ready. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We really liked the furnishings in our King room. Very original hotel! It’s also very close to the subway for easy access to Manhattan. 1/14/2019

J

Wonderfully designed, moderately priced- nearby the 37 street R/M train station. It's close to Kaufman Studios and many restaurants, bars, a movie theater and the Museum of the Moving Image. The hotel was built from an old factory and is just brilliantly designed down to the small details in the rooms. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, game room, fitness center, lounge areas, continental breakfast (for a fee), bottled water and more. Check in is at 3pm. Check out is at 11am. I suggest anyone that's looking for a nice place to stay while in the Queens area- with easy access into Manhattan by train- to stay here. The staff is lovely as well. I would definitely come back. 8/13/2018

Shaurica C.

5 star rating Oh, The Paper Factory! What a darling hotel.

Stayed here while in New York on business at the recommendation of a NY resident & native, and was not disappointed! I loved everything about this place!

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating every day of my stay, and even gave me this cute complimentary bathrobe and slipper set! I stayed in one of the lofts, and the view was absolutely amazing. So were the amenities.

There's also a lot to do in the area (although not particularly walking distance), and the hotel staff will be more than happy to point you in the right direction. There are 2 or 3 subway stations in a 5 minute walk or less. You also have to stop by the bar downstairs and chat with the lovely Rachel! She is so extremely fun & pleasant, and I really enjoyed meeting her. If fate were to ever bring me back this way, I would definitely love to stay here again!
3/12/2019

Sara P.

5 star rating The hallways are not that spacious but  great interior and super hip hotel gives you a London feel 3/12/2018

Ankur

This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with an industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Jon

Not a great location but easy access to subway. Well decorated and comfortable rooms. Very cool common areas when you enter and nice, helpful staff 9/04/2018

Eric W.

5 star rating I travel for business often and have stayed at well over 80 hotels in the last 2 years alone. I've had amazing experiences at hotels and I've also had horrible experiences. My stay here was amazing!! - we got a free upgrade to the Manhattan Suite. The hotel has so much character both in the rooms and also downstairs - Joana at the front desk made we feel welcome from the moment I stepped into this hotel. She offered me a comprehensive list of recommended restaurants in the area and answered all my questions courteously and professionally. This place is amazing - worth every penny and then some. Check it out!!!! 10/27/2018

Joanne K.

4 star rating I'd definitely go back here if i ever needed a room in queens again! The space is so cute. And also everything was clean. Also the brand for shower gel/shampoo/conditioner etc is good too. And i generally don't use the ones the hotels give. My only complaint would be there's no parking, and only one elevator!! 5/28/2017

Nicki D.

5 star rating The overall feel of this vintage London inspired hotel is so dope. The restaurant downstairs was fabulous, along with the bar. The rooms have an industrial, cool, city vibe. The location is also super close to the train. A few blocks away from a quick ride into manhattan. The staff was also extremely accommodating. We had to leave early because of a snow storm and they completely refunded us for the night we didn't stay.

Definitely recommend this place!
5/14/2018

Adam M.

5 star rating My stay at the paper factory hotel was excellent. Clean, quiet even though there is construction going on nearby. Friendly staff that went out of there way to make me feel at home. Decor has an amazing rustic vintage feel to it. Spent some time taking photos of the interior items which are from the early to middle 20th century. 2/13/2018

Cyrus P.

4 star rating Nice hotel bar, a bit quiet, but so is that area, especially at night. A nice and quiet place to come and have drinks away from the rest of the madness in Astoria.

Service was good.
12/26/2016

Sevann H.

4 star rating We ended up booking a night at the Paper Factory Hotel after some last minute changes to our flights out of LGA. It certainly is an odd location but conveniently located close to the airport with a few great restaurants nearby. If you're looking to step out of the hotel and do a lot of sightseeing then you will most definitely be disappointed, it's what I would refer to as a utilitarian neighborhood.

The hotel itself is decorated it what I would call hipster Millennial meets Restoration Hardware. It's quite beautiful inside and the rooms certainly look unique compared to what you would traditionally find.

The ceilings in the rooms are quite tall, and between that and the concrete floors I though for sure it would be loud at night but the concrete must be several meters thick because we never heard another soul all night long. The bathroom was clean, the room spacious, and well priced. Overall a winner for what it was. If you're ever pressed to stay by LGA, definitely consider this place.
2/25/2017

Zachary M

5 star rating Visited during Graduation There were 5 of us at the hotel. We stayed on recommendations from family. The hotel was under construction when we were there, however we weren’t there for the hotel restaurant. The rooms were more than enough space, very clean and well maintained. The hotel has a great feel and you feel very safe in the area! There are 2 subways stations very close that zip right into the action! The staff was attentive, very pleasant and knowledgeable! Even tho the restaurant was closed the breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day! When visiting New York again we would absolutely chose the Paper Factory! 7/16/2019

Meaghan L.

5 star rating Amazing hotel in a great location. The breakfast included in the room was amazing. The staff was very nice. I highly recommend staying at the paper factory. 7/07/2018

Pamela J.

4 star rating When we travel to New York, we love to stay at the paper factory. We have stayed twice. The furniture and ambiance is very pleasing and stylish. There is a restaurant by the entrance that is temporarily closed but they have buffet style breakfast till 10:30. There is a little shop inside that sells pastries and coffee till 11am then opens again at 3 for small meals/snacks/beer/wine. There is also small activities like a cool chess table to use in the lobby.

The rooms are quite simple but very pleasurable. No mini fridge or microwaves in the basic rooms but the beds are cozy and the room is stylish.
9/17/2018

bitchofliving

A funky, hipster hotel that was fairly enjoyable. My major criticism is the overall customer service. A truly slow and often times very forgetful front desk, no luggage carts at check-in (after a very long 10-hour drive), and an inconsistent bar that had no regular hours. One great positive was the proximity to public transport, with the subway literally across the street from the front door. 10/10/2018

AnaB176

4 star rating Will Be Great Once Renovations Are Complete This hotel had great reviews up until they started renovations. The hotel really does not have a ton to offer in comparison to what is advertised on the website. I feel like once the renovations are complete and the restaurant and bar are back up in running this hotel will have so much more. It was very clean and we loved the updated bathroom with high end fixtures. The room was very small in comparison to what is advertised. The mattress was on a platform that was bigger than it which was strange. The staff were very pleasant and directed us to some restaurants in walking distance. The renovations appeared to include an nice outdoor patio space which will be awesome once complete. Overall the hotel was very basic. Would not go back until the renovations are complete. 7/16/2019

Luca P.

5 star rating Super friendly staff. Nicely decorated rooms, unique hotel, the drink at the bar were nice. Tried a Negroni and an old fashioned. The vibe is tranquil and easygoing 10/14/2018

AliJelly

5 star rating Beautiful quirky hotel in NYC The hotel is set in an an old factory, rooms are grand and have every comfort. Our bed was just perfect. It’s very conveniently located to visit NYC, without having to be in Manhattan. They have a restaurant on-site were we had breakfast once. The pancakes were just delicious! We also had a coffe everyday from their bar, it was the best coffe I had in NYC. I was pregnant at the time so I could only drink decaf, nevertheless it was delicious! 10/02/2018

bobmR839FX

5 star rating Awesome and honest staff Went into hotel looking to book group for next October, 2020. Met with Jon and he is a true gentleman and honest guy. Gave great tips, pointers, recommendations and wasn't only pushing his hotel. Booked room for friends coming into town to next week and know it will be perfect. Thanks Shane for your attention and service. 8/22/2019

Alicia D

4 star rating Easy access to Manhattan I was a first time visitor to NYC with my two teenage daughters. We live in rural NC so we aren't used to city life and were a little nervous about making sure we stayed in a safe area and were able to navigate the city easily while saving money compared to Manhattan prices. This hotel checked those boxes. There were other families staying there and the desk clerks were very helpful. We had no trouble using the subway. One station was right across the street from the hotel, and we traveled all over Manhattan and even ventured into NJ and Queens with no issues. The street the hotel is on looks kind of run down and deserted, very few pedestrians about, with a Mercedes dealership and garage next door but a couple of streets over are several restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating and several people out and about. We didn't feel unsafe but also did not walk the streets after dark. I might not have felt safe then just because there were so few people out. The one night we came back to the hotel after dark we took a Lyft so that we could be dropped off at the door. About the hotel itself...I was disappointed that the lobby and several of the really cool areas (the book staircase, for example) that are prominently featured on the website were being remodeled and/or under construction. The website information... I was a first time visitor to NYC with my two teenage daughters. We live in rural NC so we aren't used to city life and were a little nervous about making sure we stayed in a safe area and were able to navigate the city easily while saving money compared to Manhattan prices. This hotel checked those boxes. There were other families staying there and the desk clerks were very helpful. We had no trouble using the subway. One station was right across the street from the hotel, and we traveled all over Manhattan and even ventured into NJ and Queens with no issues. The street the hotel is on looks kind of run down and deserted, very few pedestrians about, with a Mercedes dealership and garage next door but a couple of streets over are several restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating and several people out and about. We didn't feel unsafe but also did not walk the streets after dark. I might not have felt safe then just because there were so few people out. The one night we came back to the hotel after dark we took a Lyft so that we could be dropped off at the door.

About the hotel itself...I was disappointed that the lobby and several of the really cool areas (the book staircase, for example) that are prominently featured on the website were being remodeled and/or under construction. The website information and pictures do not reflect the current state of affairs. First impression upon walking into the lobby was not good because of that. When we went to check in there was an error with our reservation and they didn't have a double room available so they placed us in a king room with a roll-away bed for the first night. The next day they switched us to a double room. So it was a little aggravating to have to pack up and switch rooms but not a huge deal. After staying in the second room for one night we realized the air conditioner wasn't working so they switched us to a third room the next day which meant packing up again. That room was fine until we were getting ready to leave for the evening and realized the in room hair dryer didn't work. We realized this as we were all three getting ready to go to a Broadway show and had to be there at a certain time. I went down to the front desk with wet hair and requested a new hair dryer which took about 15-20 minutes to have it brought to the room. It was a brand new one still in the box so they maybe had to go out and buy it...not sure. Also, we had a room that was meant for four people, with three people staying in it. Housekeeping repeatedly left us 4 bath towels, 4 hand towels, and 2 washcloths. I had to keep requesting more washcloths and sometimes never received them. I resorted to stealing them off the housekeeping cart when I saw it in the hallway because we never had enough when it came time to shower.

All that to say, the hotel had some issues, but nothing absolutely horrible...just annoying. That's all the bad stuff, but there was plenty of good stuff. I liked the breakfast. Coffee and tea were free, and bagels, yogurt, danishes, etc were reasonably priced for NYC...$3-$4 each. As I mentioned before, the desk staff was very friendly and helpful when we had questions. The breakfast area was very pretty and relaxing. They have a gym that I used to do yoga in a couple of times while there. Kind of old school but really cool. The one common area that wasn't being remodeled was very pretty and great for taking pictures in before heading out. The size of the rooms (we experienced three of them) was nice. I've heard NY hotel rooms are tiny but these felt comparable to others we've stayed in in other places. They were very clean. The bathrooms were nice. The curtains and blinds covered the windows well if you wanted to sleep in. I loved all the old structural details that give the space character and the quirky decor that was sometimes in unexpected places. That was one of the reasons I chose this hotel. We didn't want just a bland, chain hotel.

All in all we had a good stay at The Paper Factory but I can't give them five stars because of the discrepancy between the website and reality. They did mention construction on the website when I made the reservations but it said it was scheduled to be finished by the end of May. Our stay was July 13-20, well past the expected finish date. They need to update their website with accurate information. More
7/21/2019

KJ K.

4 star rating Been here twice. Willing to return because of few reasons: I love how they're so close to the metro station, their interiors, and friendly staffs.

First time the staff had upgraded our room to a Manhattan loft. It was during winter time, and the room would never get warmer... but I still enjoyed the experience because the staffs tried their best to accommodate our needs.

Second time we stayed at the first floor standard kitchenette room, thinking that first floor would not be an issue. Well, we didn't have much problems, but the bathroom smelled....like a sewer.... not to an extreme like 'oh my can't stay here' but every time I stepped into the bathroom I realized I did not want to breathe as much as I could. And the bed would make squeaky noise every time I moved.

But despite of all of these, I am willing to come back, try them at least one more time. Love how it's a little distant from Manhattan but still close to the metro station, and it was easier to find a cheaper parking lot near LIC.
7/14/2017

crazeeoma

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 2/12/2019

Lisa N.

5 star rating I have just arrived home from our daughter's college graduation party and there is not enough I can say about Daniella and her staff.  The night surpassed our expectations.  

The food. The atmosphere. The service.    All excellent.  

Thank you for making our night so special.  After Daniella who was there every step of the way. And there when we left. I have to give a shout out to Scott. Our bartender.   Thank you for all the excellent attention.   You made our night great

Thank you. Thank you and thank you again .
6/10/2017

Wally S.

5 star rating Very lovely hotel, my husband and I love it, stood there twice already!

Beautiful clean rooms, staff very friendly and helpful!

The restaurant ooooh so good, chef Eli creates the best dishes, had Tuna Carpaccio Daily, best ever also the crisp Arancini, but everything is so delicious!

On the minus side, last year we tried to stay 10days until after Halloween, but couldn't, they had a private Halloween Party, which was ok. However all the sofas, chairs and tables were removed from the lobby, with nowhere to sit, (we were told we could sit in the restaurant, which of course is not an option), the whole week leading up to the day before the party. This was extremely unprofessional from the management, it felt like the hotel guests were not welcome any longer!

Why I gave 5stars? We loved the staff, restaurant and rooms and very convenient to public transportation.

The last 3days where we had to switch hotels, because of the party we went to the Boro Hotel very close by, also a very lovely hotel, great staff and very accommodating! Definitely 5stars!
4/16/2018

Sheila M.

5 star rating I love this hotel! 5 stars because it's beautiful inside, quiet and peaceful. It can be a little dark inside but that's part of the character of the hotel. The rooms are comfy;the bed and there is a thermostat in each room ( so not sure why some reviews said it was too hot?). I have stayed twice and never been bothered by any noise. The bar and restaurant are delicious! 6/05/2018

zefer7

4 star rating Art and Hospitality My daughter has been staying in The Paper Factory Hotel, once a year at Christmas-New Year time. This is her 3rd or 4th time visiting with her two babies. She is very happy with the room and restaurants nearby. She gets take-out food and eats in the Hotel. The rooms are artful and some have a view of Manhattan. Great place for short weekender, couples or families. I highly recommend The Paper Factory! Good prices, too. Also, good subway connections. 1/06/2019

Faye M.

4 star rating The hotel is beautiful and has lots of charm and would stay again if I came back to New York the breakfast is great and great price and the area is so so but overall I liked it 9/02/2018

Cintia

Awesome decor and ambiance. There's nothing to do near the hotel but it's two minutes from the subway station.

I had an issue with the deadbolt lock that management did not fix even after I politely explained that the door wouldn't lock, they told me that they would look into it, but nothing was fixed. I didn't want to make a big deal since I was busy enjoying my vacation but I think they should have done something to fix it or at least offer another room with a working door lock. I brought this up to their attention twice.
8/18/2019

honest reviewer

5 star rating Compassionate stay... We were here for a funeral, so while most of our time here was a blur, we would like to comment on the constant kindness that was so graciously displayed toward us on every level. As we strolled in day after day, in black, rolling in extra bags, and forlorn faces, the staff here stuck with us, and afforded us human kindness above and beyond. This hotel is hipster cool, funky, clean, convenient, serves excellent food, and has the best staff ever. In memory of our beloved niece, we cannot thank you enough.. 7/27/2018

Chad

Generally great experience at the paper factory. The room was great. Breakfast was good. The subway station is right out front, and the city is only a stop or two away. 3/23/2019

Nadia

I've stayed here twice - it's such a great hotel, especially when competing with the matchbox-size hotel rooms in Manhattan. I was hesitant to stay in Queens but it was the BEST decision.

The rooms are a decent size with great decor, the wifi works, they have reasonable prices for New York, the service is reliable and friendly and the subway really is outside the hotel. The distance to NYC is not a consideration, since it's a short subway ride away.

There's only a grab-and-go breakfast counter which isn't ideal but can be worked around. The cleanliness of the room wasn't up to standard on my second stay (which was only for one night, I would have asked to move if I was staying for longer).

Don't think twice, book your stay here.
7/03/2018

Dwane O.

5 star rating Very nice atmosphere with the old factory setting. Great location in Queens easy walk to train or restaurants.  Help are very friendly. 11/06/2019

nycglutenfree

4 star rating Style doesn't always age well I was at the opening party for this hotel a few years back, when Mundo was the restaurant in the lobby. It felt like a really welcome place in the neighborhood and a cool place to be. Since Mundo's departure, it feels dated and like the events have gone down hill. 6/07/2018

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/06/2018

S. H.

5 star rating Held a corporate dinner here with all in attendance staying at this hotel. The rooms were really cool, the dinner was amazing and the service was great. I enjoyed working with Daniella for dinner and Yenny for the meeting rooms. We encountered some challenges because of a hurricane but they were both very easy to work with and helped us a great deal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!!
9/11/2017

Jonathan

Hip and trendy! Super rad place and not too pricey either! Needed a place to crash since my flight got delayed and I saw Paper Factory Hotel was running a deal so I gave it a shot and I’m so glad I did! Love this place, highly recommend! 7/22/2019

Nick

Very different from the usual chain experience. Great staff and nice rooms with a fantastic aesthetic all around. Location was perfect for our purposes, being near to several notable venues. All told, a great hotel we will definitely be considering again in the future. 11/11/2018

Mauricio V.

5 star rating This place is filled with chic decor and a really fun place to go to when they host special events. Mundo the restaurant in the hotel has great food and mixologist worthy drinks.

The whole shake, strain and stir with specials liquors and bitters....
10/18/2016

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Customer service Kendra was absolutely amazing ! Best customer service and really took care of us. Room is fantastic, spacious and beautiful. I recommend coming here, so cute and very antique chic! You won’t regret it. 3/31/2019

Stephanie L.

5 star rating I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for our anniversary on 12/6/16. I was a little worried because of some of the previous reviews I had read on here but I had a great experience. I booked for the queen room and when we arrived they told me they upgraded our room to the Penthouse free of charge because we were celebrating. It was an awesome gesture that I didn't expect at all. The staff member upfront (I forgot her name, sorry!) was incredibly sweet and helpful. Parking seems like it would be an issue but we found a spot right in front of the hotel. This place was awesome and spotless looks just like the photos on their website. The only thing I have to say is the Penthouse suite was freezing cold, we turned on both heaters and it was cold the entire night until the morning. Other than that, this place was great. Even little breakfast spot was awesome. Thank you again for the upgrade! Will definitely stay again. 12/16/2016

Mishka

The Paper Factory Hotel is a very nice place to stay. The decor was beautiful and unique and the staff was very pleasant. Although we were only there for a night, we will definitely be staying here again in the future. 7/29/2018

Luis

This hotel is so greatly decorated it looks like a museum from the past. They have taken tin drums and turn them into chairs for the lobby. In the restaurant, they have a column made out of books making it extremely unique. The rooms are spacious and also nicely decorated. The entire building has the original wood floors which have been treated to have a nice shine. The bed is comfy. The staff could not be any more friendlier and welcoming. 3/05/2018

Limor C.

5 star rating What a gorgeous place, me and my fiancé dined at the Mundo New York, the Restutante down by the lobby. The food is incredible and the atmosphere is elegant. I really enjoyed spending my thank giving day here. Staff is courteous and pleasant

Highly recommend!!
11/24/2016

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/11/2018

Tiya B.

4 star rating Great customer service. Our room was upgraded upon arrival. The decor and ambiance is a photographer's dream. I called to have a note in the room and my husband was surprised with a nice hand written birthday card and a box of chocolates. The negatives are the room had a funny smell almost mildewy and there is construction next door( which was beyond their control) by 7am it was very noisy. I will stay here again after the construction is completed. 8/26/2016

Jen M.

4 star rating Rooms were clean, staff was pleasant, good food and drinks at the bar.  Parking is tough and no valet.  Subway is across the street.  The only negative I have to say is the very strong smell of men's cologne(which they pipe in to create atmosphere) entering and exiting the hotel. 5/28/2017

barnone80

4 star rating Stylish and Comfortable This hotel was a pleasant surprise! The decor is urban chic with a lot of interesting mid-Century artifacts all around the hotel. The rooms are spacious for NYC and very comfortable. The rooms and common areas are nice and clean. The front desk staff is very nice. There is a coffee bar in the lobby and a we enjoyed the breakfast in the dining room. The neighborhood is quiet at night.

The subway station is close by, but my one criticism is that it can be hard to find parking if you have a car. There is a coffee house across the street, but most restaurants are several blocks away.
10/18/2018

Kim C

5 star rating Fabulous Hospitality This is belated review of a September stay. I ended up at the PFH very late one night after being locked out of the condo where I was to stay. Arturo was so kind to help me out of a stressful bind with a gorgeous suite for an incredible price. As (bad) luck would have it, I spent the next day in the ER and I missed the last flight out. Not only did Arturo accommodate my need for a room for a second night, he and his Brazilian background music helped me throughout a sleepless night as I researched my potentially frightening diagnosis. I'm happy to say that, months later, the diagnosis has been ruled out. And, I'm more than happy to share my very positive experience with travelers who appreciate service that goes above and beyond. More 11/09/2018

LB-Dude

5 star rating Best Bet Near LGA / Queens Stayed here when flights were canceled and we’re now scripting reasons to come back. Super-cool property in a great neighborhood with an excellent staff. They pointed us to a great Mexican restaurant down the street near Kaufman Studios (Tacuba Cantina - really good).

Dig the vibe fueled by the unique design, not just the rooms but also the lobby and outdoor patio.
8/22/2019

Adam

My stay at the paper factory hotel was excellent. Clean, quiet even though there is construction going on nearby. Friendly staff that went out of there way to make me feel at home. Decor has an amazing rustic vintage feel to it. Spent some time taking photos of the interior items which are from the early to middle 20th century. 7/24/2018

Craig M.

5 star rating I hesitate to rate the Paper Factory because I would like to keep it for myself.  Lobby and the rest of the main floor is modern, cool, unique and very welcoming. The vibe was very relaxed but the staff including Arturo, Daniella, and Theo in the bar were very friendly, helpful, and genuine.  My room was spacious, clean, and light filled and the bed was comfortable. Blackout shades provided perfect sleep environment.  Bar was well designed and offered a relaxed atmosphere.  I stayed in Queens but Manhattan is very close either by car or subway.  This place is a true gem and a nice change from the boring, generic hotel experience.  My only caveat is that like most of New York parking can be a challenge if you happen to have a car during your stay.  Other than that I look forward to staying at the Factory when I'm in town again. 10/14/2018

William v

4 star rating Very nice hotel with a good vibe Dear William,

Thank you for your kind words and compliments as it is truly our pleasure to see your 10 days stay was memorable one.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room, concierge team tips and the historic building that we are lucky enough to reside in.

Please know that we will be sharing your comments with our team and once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We all hope to see you very soon for another NYC adventure!
6/27/2018

Douglas

Excellent accommodations, excellent location. Check-in was quick and staff very friendly and helpful, made great suggestion for nearby restaurant. Room is quite large compared to other places I have stayed in NYC. I like that the shower is in a separate room from the sink and toilet-- allows people to get themselves ready more efficiently. Nice neighborhood. Rooms and hallways are thoughtfully decorated, although the building itself is beautiful. It appears that they are building out a new front lobby, but this did not interfere with my stay, nor was there any noise from the construction. My room was very clean and in excellent repair. Subway station across the street. I highly recommend The Paper Factory! 5/04/2019

chides2017

5 star rating Industrial modern hotel with touches of eclectic flair Dear Chides2017,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent stay. We are truly grateful for your kind review and your amazing rate. It is priceless to hear and read that our guest enjoyed both common areas design but rooms and accommodation as well.

We very much appreciate your comments, as they help us to improve our services. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team.

Warm regards

PF team
7/24/2018

Lilly C.

5 star rating Some of my relatives came here when we visited NYC and we want to send a shout out to the super awesome folks that work at the front desk for being super patient and accommodating with extra towels, toiletries and giving us directions to an awesome Thai place that the locals love!

The hotel itself is very eclectic and has a Rock n Roll vibe to it. I did read on trip advisor that some people thought the hotel was noisy and the rooms lack sound proofing but my relatives didn't complain so that's a good thing...it's also really close to the subway so you can hop on it go anywhere in the city...
10/10/2019

Celeste S.

5 star rating Our Wedding October 13, 2018

My husband and I were searching for a Hotel to dress and take pictures on our Wedding day in our Hometown of Long Island City.  He and I had gone to several hotels and looked no further when we walked into the Paper Factory Hotel. Gal, the owner gave us a tour of the hotel. We fell in love with the original decor and character of the Penthouse, Manhattan Loft and wonderful staff .  The staff is always pleasant and make you feel at home.  Marijana the hotel manager made arrangements for us to stay at a discounted rate to experience the hotel last summer and we absolutely enjoyed it.  Events, restaurant, common areas, views, rooms and atmosphere are always GREAT.

For our wedding we went from booking two rooms to booking five rooms in the hotel.  Each and every staff member, (they all are great for fear we'd leave someone out we didn't add names) always super helpful each and every time.  

When I got there the night before the wedding, a beautiful arrangement of roses on the bed like a fairy tale. I felt like a princess.   We had a great time with our families.  The penthouse was beautiful and large enough to accommodate our large bridal party on our special day.      

We took pictures in the rooms which were nothing short of amazing views of New York City and Long Island City.  We also took pictures in the common grounds both inside and outside the hotel.  We've only seen a handful of pictures and they are AWESOME.

We Recommend the Paper Factory for events, vacation, or just a weekend away from home.  It's convenient to the City three train stops and your in Manhattan.

Thank you for you helping making our Wedding Weekend Spectacular!

We can't wait to come back!  

Celeste and Claudio
11/09/2018

Near M.

4 star rating You may be wondering why a native, born and bred New Yorker is doing a review of a hotel in NYC but I'll explain. A friend of mine booked this hotel a few days ago and another friend of mine used to work here, so its given me the opportunity to get to check out the hotel, see the rooms and amenities it offers. I wanted to give this place a 5 out of 5 stars but there's a few key issues with this place that has made me give it a big time 4 out of 5 stars. And in some ways I feel generous giving it a 4. Either way, read on!

Location: Some may find the location inconvenient, weird, shady, "out of the way" but if you ask me, the location is perfect. Now I understand it's not right smack dab in the middle of Manhattan, in the tourist, Disineyfied trappings of Times Square or across the street from Central Park on the west or east wing of 59th but that's totally okay. This location is more of a piece of "real New York City" and you're not far away at all from Manhattan or north Brooklyn, around quite a few attractions and there's no shortage of eats in the area.

You'll be in the L.I.C/Astoria section of Queens. Up the Block from the hotel is the Museum of Moving Images which is a wonderful museum and you'll be next to Steinway street which is flooded with plenty of restaurants. To the west of Astoria and on Broadway you got even more options. Italian, Brazilian/Latin, Middle Eastern,Mediterranean, Asian the list doesn't end. And of course you have your chain restaurants if desire familiarity. If you find yourself on Jackson Ave or Vernon BLVD, then there's even more to desire.

You'll be next to Astoria Park and Gantry State Park which are both wonderful parks. And you're next to a plethora of trains to get you right into Manhattan. The R,M leaves you right in front of the hotel but the 7,E, N, W are a few minutes walks away.

You'll be in an industrial/residential area but there's not much too worry about really. Lots of construction going on with new sky rises being built.

Decor/Style: This is probably the biggest draw of the hotel. This hotel is truly groovy and has a completely distinct feel from many other hotels you'll go to anywhere. It's cozy, loungey, artsy and a lot of thought went into how the hotel was created. As I was lucky enough to see a few of the rooms through my connection, I can say that no room is the same and every room has its own unique touch and feel. Everywhere you look in the hotel there's art and every floor has a neat little lounge spot with comfy sofas. It's a mixture of the rustic past of the place meeting modern art.

There's also a nice little cafe on the main floor which is fairly priced.

And I will have to say this hotel has the best hotel-gym I've EVER been too. I've been to a good number of hotels and I am sure there's a hotel out there that blows this gym's hotel out the water BUT I still feel this hotel-gym very good. There's more then the bare bones minimum. There's a very durable kick boxing bag, good tread mills, good number of weights, resistance bands, yoga mats and a nice boom box. If you're a fitness buff and want a nice workout before you hit the streets, this can do you pretty well.

There's also a very big lounge area on the main floor and a really nice lounge rooftop area on the top floor. Which I believe can be used unless its reserved. There's also some shows that happen here which I think is on the basement area or something. I don't know but the staff can inform you I am sure.

The ugly and bad: So, with all the praise I've been giving it, I have to get down to some points that totally suck dirty booty. One of the things that pissed me off greatly about this place is the elevators. TERRIBLE. This place is only 5 floors so thankfully you have the option of going up the stairs without having to catch an asthma attack but there's no excuse for the elevators to be as slow as they are. Maybe its because its old but I don't give a damn. On the bright side, the stair cases are really neat to take a trip on so I suppose its not that bad. Still, its TOO slow for an elevator that has to go 5 floors.

Secondly, the place is still having a lot of work being done on it. I guess that's not totally a bad thing but its quite cheesy to see construction and renovation going on in the hotel when you're staying there. Once things are finalized, I can give this place a big time 4 or perfect 5.

Either way, I still highly recommend this place and don't let my negatives of the place deter you. If you can afford it, definitely book it and make sure you have time to not only explore NYC but spend time in the hotel. It's definitely a hotel I feel you would want to spend time in and not only have as a sleeping hub. It's so groovy, comfy and cozy that I would definitely want to make the best out of shelling out some cash to actually hang out here. BOOK IT.
3/08/2017

Kitty2222

5 star rating Needed to be close to the city, comfortable at a reasonable price. Close to Manhattan, subway right outside the building. Clean, large, hip & comfortable. Interesting decor. Not boring. Our morning coffee and croissant were included. We were not looking for an interesting neighborhood or restaurants. We just needed affordability and comfort. This was perfect. 5/28/2018

eamagnusen

5 star rating Relaxing, Artsy and Clean OK, so my personal experience at this hotel was amazing. First and foremost, the staff geniunely made me feel comfortable with the Paper Factory Hotel. (Thank you Arturo for your help and outstanding service.)

Didn't jot down their names, and the two front desk agents who checked me in were both helpful and sincere.

Room 427 was great (corner king room) Retro styling along with mofern conveniences, tall ceilings and windows on two sides of the room (as well as in the entranceway.) AC worked efficiently and quietly. Wanted to take the bed home with me!

Linens were fine, as were the bathroom towels.

Bottom line is this hotel has a lot going for it....great staff, comfortable rooms and is a off the charts in the "bang for your buck" quotent.
6/19/2018

Yonatan K.

5 star rating Very cool hotel everything here is very rustic I love displace the rooms comfortable and The price is ridiculous very cheap, comfortable to get to the city from here 11/20/2016

Zoe W.

5 star rating Stayed here over the Christmas weekend. It was my second time staying here, with the first time being two years ago. Like last time, I had a lovely experience. The staff were all very nice, the room was clean and beautifully decorated (the whole hotel is beautifully decorated with an eclectic but warm aesthetic that I love). I also love the location because it's quieter and less busy than you would experience if you stayed in Manhattan, but is still very close to Manhattan. Plus, we found free street parking right next to the hotel immediately upon arrival, which is a huge convenience. I also love the products they use for the shower gel and shampoo/conditioner in the rooms, they smell wonderful.

My ONLY complaint, but it was more my fault, was that the hotel restaurant (which is now called Lily Valley instead of Mundo) is advertised as being open 5-11pm Tuesday through Saturday, but the kitchen closes at 10pm, which seems pretty early to me. We got there expecting to be able to have a late dinner at 10 (which I thought was plenty of time since it closed at 11) and were told, very apologetically, that the kitchen closed at 10. I would love it if they extended their hours or made it more clear that the kitchen closed at 10 on their website, especially since the hotel has no room service. We experienced the same thing in the morning, where we got to the restaurant for breakfast/brunch at 11am and were told they close at 11am. To me that's a little early on a Sunday to close, and again I would love if they extended their hours to close at 12pm. But other than that, it was a great hotel stay, and I look forward to staying there again.
12/30/2017

Nofar M

5 star rating Wow!! Wow !!! Really recommend! If you are in NY great place for friends,family and also couples

Thank you very much . They people there very kind . The service there very quiqly . Soon they need to open there also restaurant inside- can’t wait!
7/04/2018

Molly L.

5 star rating I just accidentally posted this a tip, but I was here for a New Year's Eve party and this hotel is gorgeous! Beautiful bar, unique and classy interior. Definitely a fun place for a group of friends looking to stay in this area, saw a lot of family's and kids too. 1/02/2017

Holls D.

4 star rating The staff was super friendly and helpful.  The room was clean and spacious.  Would definitely recommend this hotel. 8/06/2017

Tash H.

5 star rating Great hotel! It's definitely more spacious than any hotel in Manhattan for this price range. Will return. 9/23/2018

Cierra J.

5 star rating I have planned photo shoots all over the world and have worked with so many different kinds of folks, and the team at the paper factory have by FAR been the BEST. From dealing with small day to day requests, to the ever changing reality that is wedding planning - there was NO way I could've done it without the help of Keiry, Shane, Kendra, Amanda and team.

Truth be told, I had two other hotels on hold for my big day, but wasn't completely happy with either. With one, you got excellent customer service - but the rooms were tiny, and the other - a spacious room with practically non existent customer service. I was relieved to find the PERFECT hotel to host my family.

My ultimate thanks goes to their exceptional team, for all they have done to go above and beyond to really take care of us. They looked after my family as if they were their own, and that meant the WORLD to me. We look forward to booking with them, every chance we get, just so we can see and say hello to the folks that work there! Highly recommend over any place I've stayed in the city. 5 stars across the board.
8/22/2019

Marga V

5 star rating Modern hotel with eye for detail, saving you money, close to Manhattan We spend 4 nights at The Paper Factory in Long Island City. No regrets about choosing to stay at the Paper Factory, as the location is conveniently located next to metrostation 36th street which is very close to Manhattan (2 stops). We walked around in the neighborhoods and never ever felt uncomfortable or unsafe at all.

Friendly welcome at reception. Hotel has been decorated with eye for detail and modern design. Rooms are nice with comfortable beds which gave a good sleep. We didn't use the optional breakfast but it is available at 15$ pp. Clean towels provided every day and new bedsheets upon request. Free complimentary coffee and tea in the room. The receptionists can inform you about restaurants in the neighbourhood (try 'Dutch Kills Centraal' or the lively mexican cantina 'Tacuba'), using the metro and they have leaflets for most of New York's attractions available.

On the day we left we were able to leave our luggage for some more hours to pick up later. More
6/20/2018